Mike Homan Picked for President-Nominee

By Executive Director, Donna Mercier

2015-16 Nominating Committee Chair and Past President Phil Lakin announced during the September 16 Rotary weekly meeting that Rotarian Mike Homan accepted the nomination to serve as Rotary Club of Tulsa president for 2017-18. Homan is Vice President and Regional Manager at Terracon. He joined in October 1991, and currently is a member of the Invocations and Memorial committee.

Other candidates announced at the September 16 meeting include: Matthew Bristow, Budget Chair and Secretary-Treasurer-elect; Catherine deCamp, Sergeant-at-Arms; and Will Smith, Rotary Club of Tulsa Foundation Trustee for a five-year term. John Rains will serve as Club President during the 2016-17 Rotary year.

Any member of the club may add a nominee to the proposed slate by September 30th by submitting in writing the nomination signed by 25 members of the club. Unopposed candidates as of September 30 will be considered elected by acclamation.

On December 2 Rotarians will vote on one of the following for a three-year term as Director-At-Large:  Dana Birkes,  David Downing and Mac Finlayson (see nominee details below). Absentee ballots, available by request and must be cast prior to the December 2 meeting.

In addition to the slate Rotarians will vote upon, President-elect Rains will appoint six Service Directors and a Board Chair to serve in 2016-17. Current club president Jeff Hassell along with 2016-17 Long-Range Planning Chair John O’Connor will complete the 16-member Board of Directors.

Members of the 2015 Nominating Committee included past-presidents Phil Lakin, Jr.; Tom Klenda, Karen Keith, and Rhonda Daniel, club president Jeff Hassell, president-elect John Rains and current directors-at-large John Howland, Tony Oliva and Brian Bovaird.

Information about the nominees:

Mike Homan

Mike Homan

President-Nominee Mike Homan joined the club in 1991. He is a Paul Harris Fellow and Club Foundation Fellow.  His classification is Engineering Soils & Foundations. He is the Vice President and Regional Manager of Terracon.


Matthew Bristow

Secretary/Treasurer-Elect nominee is Matthew Bristow. Joining in 2009, his Rotary service includes Sergeant at Arms, Invocation and Memorials committee, Programs committee, and Salvation Army Bell Ringers.  His classification is Investment Banking. Matthew is the Managing Director of ClearRidge, LLC – Investment.


Catherine deCamp

Sergeant-At-Arms nominee Catherine deCamp joined the Rotary Club of Tulsa in 2015. Her classification is Medical-Home Health Care and she is the Sponsored Executive of Campaign with United Way.


Will Smith

Nominated to serve a five-year term starting July 1, 2016, as a Club Foundation Trustee, Will Smith is a Club Foundation Fellow and Paul Harris Fellow. He joined the club in 1997 and is the current Rotaract committee chair. His classification is Drilling Contractor. He is the President of SWS, LLC.

Director-At-Large Candidates – Elect one of three to serve a three-year term:


Dana Birkes

Dana currently Co-chairs the Henry P. Iba Awards Committee. She joined in 2011 and is a Club Foundation Fellow; her classification is Contractors. She is the Chief Marketing Officer for Clifford Power Systems, Inc.


David Downing

Joining in 2008, David is a Club Foundation Fellow. His classification is Advertising and he is owner of Acrobat Ant.


Mac Finlayson

Joining in 1997, Mac’s classification is Law and he is senior counsel with Eller and Detrich. Currently, he is a member of Mike Chittom Partner’s in Education committee and committee chair of the Rotary Foundation. He is a Club Foundation Fellow, a Paul Harris Fellow and Rotarian of the Year in 2008-2009.