Klenda To Head Rotary For 2012-13

By GasserOnline Correspondent, TIM COLWELL

A slate of new officers and directors has been announced and members will vote on the slate at the December 1 luncheon meeting. Tom Klenda was nominated to serve as president-elect in 2011-12, following the term of current President-elect Phil Lakin.  Nominated to join him on next year’s board are Clinton Godwin, secretary-treasurer; Joe Kelley, sergeant-at-arms; and Elaine Dishman, trustee of the Rotary Club of Tulsa Foundation.

Members will also vote for one of three at-large director nominees: John Kahre, John Rains and Carl Vincent.  The top vote getter will serve a three-year term on the board.

All nominations remain open until November 10. Per the Method of Electing Officers and Directors Guidelines, “Any member of the club may add a nominee to the proposed slate by the second Wednesday in November by submitting in writing the nomination signed by twenty-five (25) members of the club.” If none are received by November 10, nominations will be considered closed and unopposed positions elected.

Absentee ballots will be available from Jane Stewart at the November 17 and 24 Rotary meetings or by contacting the Rotary office.

Information about the nominees:


klenda-tomTom Klenda
President nominee Tom Klenda joined the club in 1985.  A Club Foundation Fellow and Paul Harris Fellow, he has served the club in many capacities, including past director, Community Projects chair, International Projects chair, International Youth Exchange chair, Community Foundation trustee, Vocational Service director, Youth Service director, Community Foundation trustee chair, Community Foundation Development chair and Community Service director.  His classification is Law/Banking.


Clinton Godwin
Secretary-treasurer nominee Clinton is a Club Foundation Fellow and a Paul Harris Fellow.  He is a 12-year member of the club, joining in 1998.  His club service this year will include chairing the Fireside Committee. Past service includes Invocation and Memorials chair, Attendance chair and Fireside chair.  Clinton’s classification is Banking/Business Development.  He is the Tulsa Division president of 1st Bank Oklahoma.


Joe Kelley
Sergeant-at-arms nominee Joe, widely known in Tulsa and beyond as the morning show host on KRMG radio, joined the Rotary Club of Tulsa in 2006.  As the sergeant-at-arms, Kelley’s voice will be familiar to the club members. His classification is Radio Broadcasting/Host.  He has served on the Visitors, Programs, Above & Beyond Awards, the Community Action Team and Classification Committee. Joe, who is also is a social media guru, started the club’s Facebook fan page and regularly Twitters about club programs and activities.


Elaine Dishman
Trustee-nominee Elaine is a 17-year member of the club, joining in 1993.  She currently serves on the Iba Awards and Invocations & Memorials committees.  Her past service includes club secretary/treasurer, Community Projects chair, Membership Development co-chair, New Member Orientation, Yearling chair, director-at-large and Budget chair.  She is a Club Foundation Fellow and Paul Harris Fellow.  She is the senior vice president for Business Development at SpiritBank.


Carl Vincent 
Joining in 2004, Carl is a Club Foundation Fellow.  His classification is Real Estate/Leasing Commercial.  He serves as the chair this year of the Above & Beyond Awards.  His other service includes the Public Relations committee and the Community Action Team.


John Rains
Joining in 2002, John is a Club Foundation Fellow and a Paul Harris Fellow. His classification is Computer/Software Consultant.  He is the vice president of Sales for Austral Inc. His Rotary involvement includes service as Technology chair, Shop With a Cop chair and New Member Orientation chair.  He is currently serving on the Camp Enterprise Committee.


John Kahre
Joining in 2000, his classification is Coordinator/Instructor of Horticulture.  John is employed at Tulsa Community College and serves as chair of the Chittom Park Development Committee. He has also served with Mike Chittom Partners in Education, Salvation Army Bell Ringers and the Up With Trees committees.

Past-President Linda Bradshaw served as chair of the nominating committee. As established by the club by-laws, those serving on Linda’s committee included President Bob McKenzie; President–Elect Phil Lakin; Past Presidents Del Dreyer, Tim Colwell, Cory Nickerson, and Directors-at-Large Trisha Kerkstra, Michael Birkes and Brenda Melancon.